Certified Hotel Asset Manager (CHAM)

The only advanced qualification in the world for experts in hotel asset management is the Certified Hotel Asset Manager (CHAM) title. CHAM designees are a select group of senior hospitality professionals who have spent a significant amount of time managing “lead” assets. They have advanced understanding in all elements of hotel management and operations.

Hotel asset managers throughout the world are trusted with handling millions, if not billions of dollars’ worth of equity and debt investments from hotel owners of all stripes, including individual property owners, stockholders, lenders, pension funds, and sovereign wealth funds. These owners and stakeholders seek assurance that the people in charge of safeguarding and enhancing asset values have the necessary combination of skills and experience to properly carry out an all-encompassing hotel investment strategy from beginning to end. By earning the CHAM certification, you demonstrate that you rank among the finest in your field and are capable of living up to the obligations and requirements placed on you by hoteliers and other stakeholders.

Certification Program Objectives:

  • To handle conflict resulting from the application of the management agreement, investigate dispute resolution techniques.
  • Adjust the capital budget to account for various ownership needs and market conditions.
  • Analyze capital investments and provide insightful feedback on short- and long-term capital spending strategies.
  • Use techniques that are industry-standard to benchmark revenues and costs.

Certification Requirements:

  • Bachelor’s Degree
  • 5 years of work experience in Hotel Asset Management

Certifying Examination:

  • To be certified as CHAM, student should take up a 1.5 hours exam at the designated examination centers.
  • The qualifying exam would consist of 50 multiple choice questions, testing core certification modules.
  • Professionals with relevant experience and other qualifying criteria may be exempted from the examination.

Certification Modules:

Module 1: Asset Management Process
Module 2: Hotel Operations
Module 3: Contracts and Legal Aspects
Module 4: Financial Analysis and Benchmarking