Certified Scrum Master (CSM)

The Certified Scrum Master (CSM) certification program is a comprehensive training designed to equip individuals with the knowledge and skills needed to excel in the role of a Scrum Master within the Scrum framework. Scrum is a highly popular Agile methodology used in software development and various industries to enhance team collaboration, product quality, and project flexibility. The CSM program provides a thorough curriculum covering the key aspects of Scrum, enabling graduates to effectively facilitate Scrum practices and promote its principles.

Certification Program Objectives:

Upon completing the Certified Scrum Master (CSM) program, participants will be able to:

  • Understanding the Scrum Framework: Gain a deep understanding of the Scrum framework, its principles, values, and the Scrum Guide, ensuring a solid foundation in Scrum concepts.
  • Roles and Responsibilities in Scrum: Learn the roles and responsibilities of the Scrum Master, Product Owner, and Development Team, and how they collaborate to deliver value.
  • Scrum Event Essentials: Master the essential Scrum events, including Sprint, Sprint Planning, Daily Scrum, Sprint Review, and Sprint Retrospective, and learn how to facilitate these events effectively.
  • Managing Scrum Artifacts and Deliverables: Understand the importance of Scrum artifacts such as the Product Backlog, Sprint Backlog, and Increment, and learn how to manage them for successful product development.

Certification Requirements:

  • Bachelor’s Degree


  • 2 – 5 years of relevant work experience

Certifying Examination:

  • To be certified as CSM, student should take up a 1.5 hours online exam conducted by AIBM.
  • The qualifying exam would consist of 50 multiple choice questions, testing core certification modules.
  • Professionals with relevant experience and other qualifying criteria may be exempted from the examination.

Certification Modules:

  • Module 1: Introduction to Scrum Framework
  • Module 2: Scrum Roles and Responsibilities
  • Module 3: Scrum Events: Sprint Planning, Daily Standup, Sprint Review, Sprint Retrospective
  • Module 4: Scrum Artifacts: Product Backlog, Sprint Backlog, Increment
  • Module 5: Scrum Values and Principles
  • Module 6: Scrum Implementation and Best Practices

* The modules of the certification are constantly updated and are subject to change.

Who Should Do This Certification:

The Certified Scrum Master (CSM) certification is highly beneficial for professionals across various industries, including:

  • Project Managers: Those looking to adopt Agile and Scrum practices to enhance project management.
  • Software Developers: Individuals involved in software development who want to work in Agile environments.
  • Product Owners: Professionals responsible for product development and delivery.
  • Quality Assurance Professionals: Those interested in Agile testing and quality assurance practices.
  • Team Leaders: Team leaders aiming to improve team collaboration and productivity.
  • Business Analysts: Professionals involved in requirements gathering and analysis for Agile projects.
  • Anyone Interested in Agile: Individuals looking to gain a comprehensive understanding of Agile and Scrum practices for career advancement.

Earning the CSM certification signifies your expertise in Scrum principles and practices, making you a valuable asset in Agile project management and product development roles. Whether you are already working in Agile environments or aspire to do so, this certification equips you with the knowledge and skills needed to excel in Agile and Scrum-related roles.